General Information About Belarus

The Republic of Belarus

The Republic of Belarus is the state in Eastern Europe. At the beginning of 2016 the population is 9,498,700 people, the area is 207,600 km². Belarus is on the 93rd place due to the population and on the 84th due to the area in the world. The capital and the largest city of the country is Minsk. Official languages are Belarusian and Russian. Unitarian state, presidential republic. On the 20th of July 1994 the presidential post was taken by Alexander Lukashenko, who afterwards won the elections of 2001, 2006, 2010 and 2015. Belarus is divided into 6 regions, Minsk has a special status of the city of the republican subordination.

Geographical position

The area of Belarus is 207,600 km² (the 86th place due to the area among the world countries). It is situated in Eastern Europe. Belarus is the largest by the area European country (among entirely situated in Europe), which is landlocked. Belarus verges (from north-east clockwise) upon Russia, the Ukraine, Poland, Lithuania and Latvia.


Belarusian climate is moderately continental, transitional from maritime to continental, formed under the influence of air masses of the Atlantic. In winter thaw is not frequent. The average summer temperature varies from +17° С in the north (July) to +18-19° С in the south. Precipitation is evenly, with an increase from south to north - from 500 mm in the south to 800 mm in the northwest. The maximum amount of precipitation usually falls in the autumn-winter period. In forest areas the thickness of snow cover may be 1-1.2 m.


Forests cover near 2/5 of the territory of the country. However, there are relatively few large woodlands on the territory of Belarus (2 largest are Belovezhskaya Pushcha and Nalibokskaya Pushcha), but there are no woodless areas.


Fauna combines the animals of broadleaved forests, taiga and wooded steppe. The most predominant in the animal world are wild boars, hares, elks, beavers. The most popular and dangerous foresters are wolves, bears, foxes and lynxes.

Storks, thrushes, herons, crows, sparrows, tits, orioles, bullfinch are the birds, that present the variety of Belarus.

There are many species of fish, as the country is rich in water resources: rivers, lakes and reservoirs. The most predominant among fish are pikes, roaches, breams, crucian carps, perches.

Bisons, pond turtle, lynxes, river beavers and pine martens are under the state protection. The insects are overall widespread.

Bees, wasps, ladybirds, butterflies and earthworms are the insects that are widely spread in the country.


Agriculture is a historically important sector of the local economy, that gives more than 7% of national GDP, provides working places of more than 9 % of the population. The main agricultural branch is farming and dairy husbandry. The main foodcrops are potato (6.9 million tones), sugar beat (4.8 million tones), wheat (2.5 million tones). Forest industry that is traditional for the republic in the past plays a minor role in the external trade – in 2013 forest products and services for $ 144,8 million were exported (0,39 % of the country export).

Transport, infrastructure, communications

Railway and automobile transport are the main ways of transport communication in the country. The railway network is focused on the main road, passing through Orsha, Minsk and Brest, which connects Belarus with Moscow in the east and with Warsaw in the west. Route miles are 5, 512 km. There are more than 83,000 km of open roads and near 200,000 km of departmental ones (agricultural, industrial, forestry and others.), including 10 000 km in cities and localities. The intensity of the rural hard-surface roads is rather low – 337 km per 1,000 km². There are 261 cars per thousand of residents in Belarus. River fleet carries out transportation on 1,500 km navigable waterways (mainly in the Dnepr basin). Air transport is relatively weakly developed; the largest airport in the country is located near Minsk. There are 7 international airports in the country.

ruseng

Беларусь - общая информация

Республика Беларусь




Республика Беларусь — государство в Восточной Европе. Население на начало 2016 года составляет 9 498 700 человек, территория — 207 600 км². Занимает девяносто третье место по количеству населения и восемьдесят четвёртое по территории в мире. Столица и самый крупный город государства — город Минск. Государственными языками являются белорусский и русский.Унитарное государство, президентская республика. 20 июля 1994 года пост президента занял Александр Лукашенко, впоследствии побеждавший также на выборах 2001, 2006, 2010 и 2015 годов.Подразделяется на 6 областей, город Минск имеет особый статус города республиканского подчинения.



Географическое положение


Территория Беларуси составляет 207 600 км² (86-е место по площади среди стран мира). Расположена в Восточной Европе. Беларусь является крупнейшим по территории европейским государством (из целиком расположенных в Европе), не имеющим выхода к морю. Беларусь граничит (начиная с северо-востока, по часовой стрелке) с Россией, Украиной, Польшей, Литвой и Латвией.



Климат


Климат Беларуси умеренно-континентальный, переходный от морского к континентальному, формирующийся под влиянием воздушных масс Атлантики. В зимний период нередки оттепели.Средняя летняя температура колеблется от +17° С на севере (июль), до +18—19° С на юге. Осадки выпадают равномерно, с возрастанием с юга на север — от 500 мм на юге, до 800 мм на северо-западе. Максимальное количество осадков обычно выпадает в осенне-зимний период. В лесных районах толщина снежного покрова может составлять 1—1,2 м.



Флора


Леса занимают около 2/5 территории страны. Однако на территории Беларуси сравнительно мало крупных лесных массивов (2 крупнейших - Беловежская и Налибокская пущи), но нет и безлесных районов.



Фауна


Животный мир сочетает в себе представителей широколиственных лесов, тайги и лесостепи. Среди представителей фауны наиболее часто встречаются дикий кабан, заяц, лось, бобр. Наиболее популярными и опасными обитателями леса являются волк, медведь, лиса и рысь.






Аист, дрозд, цапля, ворона, воробей, синица, иволга, снегирь - птицы, которые отражают колорит Беларуси.



В стране насчитывается множество видов рыб, так как страна богата водными ресурсами: реками, озерами и водохранилищами. Наиболее распространенными из них являются: щука, плотва, лещ,карась,окунь.






Под охраной государства находятся: зубр, болотная черепаха, рысь, речной бобр и лесная куница.Повсеместно распространены насекомые.






Пчелы, осы, божьи коровки, бабочки и дождевые черви - насекомые, которые наиболее часто встречаются на территории страны.






Сельское хозяйство


Сельское хозяйство — исторически важная отрасль местной экономики, давая более 7 % национального ВВП, обеспечивает занятость более 9 % населения. Основной сельскохозяйственной отраслью является земледелие и молочное животноводство.Основные пищевые культуры: картофель (6,9 млн т), сахарная свёкла (4,8 млн т), пшеница (2,5 млн т)В прошлом традиционная для республики лесная отрасль играет незначительную роль во внешней торговле — вывезено лесопродукции и услуг в 2013 году на 144,8 млн долларов (0,39 % экспорта страны).


Транспорт, инфраструктура, связь





Железные дороги и автомобильный транспорт — главные виды транспортного сообщения в стране. Сеть железных дорог ориентирована на главную магистраль, проходящую через Оршу, Минск и Брест, которая соединяет Беларусь с Москвой на востоке и Варшавой на западе. Эксплуатационная длина путей — 5512 км. Всего в Беларуси более чем 83 000 км дорог общего пользования и около 200 000 км ведомственных (сельскохозяйственных, промышленных предприятий, лесных и др.), в том числе 10 000 км в городах и населённых пунктах. При этом плотность загородных дорог с твёрдым покрытием пока довольно низкая — 337 км на 1000 км² территории. На тысячу жителей в Беларуси приходится 261 автомобиль.Речной флот осуществляет перевозки по 1500 км судоходных водных путей (главным образом в бассейне Днепра). Воздушный транспорт развит относительно слабо; крупнейший аэропорт страны находится близ Минска. Всего в стране семь международных аэропортов.